Lemon Coffee Cake

I’m not sure why I am posting a lemon recipe at the end of fall. Normally this time of year calls for warmer flavors, like cinnamon and cloves. But lemon?

I guess I just had an urge. I wanted something decadently rich, but with a lightness of flavor. So lemon coffee cake it was.

And decadent is what I got.

This cake is dense, rich, and something you want to savor. Eaten alongside a steaming cup of tea, I can’t think of a better way to spend my morning.

Well, at least not today.

Lovely Lemon Coffee Cake

Print this recipe!

1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
6 Tbsp vegan butter**
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 Tbsp lemon zest (from about 2 lemons)
2 1/2 tsp Ener-G Egg Replacer
3 tbsp water
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup vegan sour cream

Preheat oven to 350F and oil an 8.5″ x 4.5″ loaf pan. Combine egg replacer and water in a small bowl and set aside.

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.

Cream butter, sugar, and lemon zest in a mixer (I tried it by hand… it is doable but difficult. I think my arm is actually sore!) for about two minutes. Add Ener-G mixture and vanilla and mix well.

Add half of the flour mixture to the wet ingredients. Mix well. Add the sour cream and mix again. Add the rest of the flour and make sure it is all incorporated very well.

Scoop into the oiled loaf pan and level the top with a spoon. The batter should be fairly thick. Bake for 55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

**I want to try making this with about 2 Tbsp less butter and replacing it with 3 Tbsp applesauce.. If you’re feeling adventurous, give it a go and let me know how it turns out!

** They make the Earth Balance butter in stick form!!!! I found it at the local health foods store, and it was definitely my most exciting find of the week (Wow. I sound exciting don’t I?)

One thought on “Lemon Coffee Cake

  1. Your Lovely Lemon Coffee Cake looks scrumptious! The photo is beautiful with the little lemon wedges as props. I will try making this Lovely Lemon Coffee Cake with the applesauce since I prefer less fats in my foods.I will report back to you on how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

