Cranberry Orange Bread

Before I get into this post, I wanted to apologize for the blurry photos… Every time I think I can shoot without the tripod, I am reminded that it is a bad idea!

I wasn’t happy about this bread. I didn’t like how it came together, I didn’t have the ingredients I wanted, and I forgot to add the walnuts. I put it in the oven and expected to be disappointed.

As you might guess (since I decided to post it), the bread actually turned out alright. I do thing adding walnuts would have improved the overall flavor and texture, but they definitely aren’t necessary, especially if you aren’t a nut person. I had to use canned cranberry sauce because there were no fresh cranberries to be found at my grocery store. So strange, considering that November is cranberry month! The canned cranberries turned out fine, but I would like to try it using fresh. I feel like the flavors would just pop!

Cranberry Orange Bread

Print this recipe.

1 tbsp ground flax seed
3 tbsp water
1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup vegan vanilla yogurt (I used Whole Soy & Co. yogurt)
1 tsp grated orange rind
1/2 can whole cranberry sauce OR 1 1/4 cups cranberries, chopped
1/4 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)

Combine flax seed and water in a small bowl, set aside. Preheat oven to 350F.

In a large bowl, combine flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

In another bowl, combine juice, yogurt, and orange rind. Add the flax mixture and mix well. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix only enough to moisten all the flour. Gently fold in cranberries and walnuts (if using).

Pour batter into an oiled 8×4 loaf pan (or I used the KAF bake-and-give pans). Bake for 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Question of the day: Are you ever surprised about the outcome of your baked goods?

I often am! Many times I am surprised in a good way, but it’s such a bummer when something I think is going to be good turns out bad. All I can say is I’ve definitely failed at zucchini bread a couple of times…

Have a good Wednesday!

One thought on “Cranberry Orange Bread

Leave a Reply

