Handy Conversions!

I have a fundamental problem when I bake. It happens every time. What is it?

I bake for two.

Or three. AJ eats a lot. Either way, I don’t have a family of five to feed. I don’t have kids who try to eat me out of house and home. I don’t have the metabolism to eat 3 pumpkin muffins for breakfast with a gallon of milk on the side, thanks. That would be my boyfriend.

So I like to make half of a standard recipe size. Six muffins is plenty (unless, of course, we run into the problem mentioned above). A 1.5 lb loaf is enough. A mini pie is just right.

Wait did I just say mini pie? Yes. I did. Most recently, a pumpkin mini pie. It is perfect for two people, two nights. They call them “personal pies,” but I disagree. I’d turn into a balloon if I ate a whole one!

The problem I run into is cutting the measurements in half. Some things aren’t intuitive, like cutting a tablespoon in half. No matter how hard I look, I can never seem to find the 1/2 T measuring spoon in my house. I’m pretty sure they exist… So here I’ve compiled a handy chart of measurement conversions! I know you can buy the little chart magnets at BB&B, but this is free and less to look at. Bookmark!

Most commonly used:

1 cup = 8 fluid ounces = 16 Tbsp
1/4 cup = 4 Tbsp
1/3 cup = 5 Tbsp + 1 tsp
1 tbsp = 3 tsp
1 lb = 16 ounces
1 oz = 28.3 grams

1 cup flour = 4.5 ounces
1 Tbsp fresh herbs = 1 tsp dried

I will keep adding to this list as I come across conversions that aren’t quite as easy (I’m guessing I can skip over the “how many half-cups in a cup”-type conversions, right?).

Do you have any conversions that you think should be on here? I’d love to add them!

2 thoughts on “Handy Conversions!

Leave a Reply

