Banana Bread


I know, I know. Who needs another banana bread recipe, right? That’s exactly what I was thinking when I was posting this. It seems that everyone has a recipe that is the perfect one and can’t be beat.

BUT! There was a point in time when I went searching the internet for a banana bread recipe. I made it, liked it, but searched again. I made another loaf, and searched again. After all the trial and error, I came up with something that I really liked and wanted to make time and again. So here it is. It has a lighter texture than some other recipes out there, making it something that I feel I could eat every day. I give it just a bit of spice to liven it up, and throw in some walnuts just for fun. For all those out there searching for the banana bread that makes you tick, give this one a go.

Banana Bread

Print this recipe.

1/2 cup Earth Balance vegan butter
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
3 medium or 2 large bananas (about 1 pound, before peeling)
1 Tbsp + 1 tsp soy milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4-1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
2 egg replacers (I used Ener-G)
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/4-1/2 cup chopped walnuts (if using)

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease an 8×4″ loaf pan, or two mini loaf pans. Prepare egg replacers and set aside.

Place the bananas in a zip-top plastic bag. Leaving a small hole at the top, gently smash the bananas with your hands until creamy. A few chunks are okay, but try to get it fairly uniform.

Cream the butter, sugar, and smashed bananas in a large bowl. Add the baking soda, salt, and spices. Add the egg replacers and mix thoroughly.

Add the flour slowly, mixing only enough to moisten all the flour. Fold in chopped walnuts, if using.

Bake at 350 for 50-60 minutes. If the top begins to brown too quickly (usually around 45-50 minutes), tent with foil and continue baking. If you are using mini loaf pans, shorten the baking time about 10-15 minutes. Test for doneness using a toothpick, and let cool 10 minutes. Enjoy!

Question of the day: Where did you get your favorite banana bread recipe, and what is so special about it?

5 thoughts on “Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Breadmaking 101 – An Introduction to Bread | Ovenmitts

  2. I make banana bread (did last weekend) with bananas mashed and soaked in dark rum for a few hours + chocolate chips. It’s a constant battle to make sure it’s not too wet so it doesn’t take too long in the oven. Even harder since I don’t really have a recipe! Other rum based breads also use (and sometimes soak) raisins. Seems like most people like the extra awesome from the rum.

    Keep up the good work – I think I’m doing cinnamon raisin (and my normal whole wheat sandwich bread) this weekend!

Leave a Reply

