Sugar and Spice Cookies

Thank God it’s Tuesday!!

Hold on. That’s not something I say that often. Thank God it’s Thursday is more like it, which isn’t all that normal anyway. Hey, why not be different? I just happen to like Thursdays. And Tuesdays like today, because:

I don’t have any exams or homework the rest of the week.
Which means I get to go to bed early tonight!
I am caught up in my genetics class (let’s see how long that lasts).
I am buying an older dSLR off my boss tomorrow. I think it’s a Canon Xti?
I get to eat Halloween cookies for dessert tonight.
So do you.
And finally, I found an Emile Henry loaf pan at the thrift store.
It only cost $5!!

So, if you didn’t believe me before, Thank God it’s Tuesday!

Sugar and Spice Cookies

Print this recipe.

I only bake for two, so this is a smaller recipe. It makes about 8 – 2.5 inch cookies. Feel free to double it for more!

3/4 cup flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ginger
1/8 tsp nutmeg
3/4 tsp Ener-G egg replacer (no additional water), or 1 1/2 tsp flax or chia seeds
2 tbsp water*
1/4 cup white granulated sugar
2 tbsp canola oil
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 tsp maple syrup

Preheat the oven to 375F.

Combine flour, baking soda, salt, and spices in a large bowl. Combine the egg replacer and water in a medium bowl. Add the sugar and remaining ingredients and whisk until creamy.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet and whisk until all the flour is moistened. If it seems too dry, add water 1 tsp at a time until you feel you have the right consistency. It should hold together well but not be too thick.

If you want roll-out cookies, refrigerate the dough for at least 30 minutes, then roll and cut your cookies.

Otherwise, grab a small amount of dough (about a tablespoon) and roll into a ball between your palms. Place on an oiled or parchment-covered cookie sheet and flatten. They will rise during baking, so flatten them to about 1/3″. Repeat for the remaining dough.

Bake at 375F for about 10 minutes, or until the edges barely start to brown. They will still look like they aren’t quite done, but they will continue to bake as they cool. These are delicious just by themselves, but if you’re feeling festive then decorate them as you like. I did!

Aren’t they cute?!

Nutrition Information:

Calories: 102
Total Fat: 3.6 g
Cholesterol: 0 mg
Sodium: 113 mg
Total Carbohydrates:16 g
Protein: 1.2 g

Today’s question: What makes your favorite days a “Thank God it’s _____day?”

Like I mentioned before, I’m particularly fond of Thursdays. I get to wake up early for my weekly bike ride with Elissa. It’s still dark out, and we ride with lights. BUT – we get to see the sunrise, and I get to ride my bike! And then I don’t have anything until class a noon, and then I’m done by 4. See, Thursdays are good!

4 thoughts on “Sugar and Spice Cookies

  1. These look so AMAZING! And they’re decorated so cutely! This might sound odd, but I’d have to say thank God it’s monday… I always seem to be busiest on the weekends, getting everything done i hadn’t that week, so when monday comes around I can relax a little!

Leave a Reply

