What’s For Dinner Tonight – Radish & Zucchini Tacos

I work at a bike shop. And I love it (is my boss reading this?). But really, I do. I don’t have to dress up to go to work, and I get to play with bikes all day. Sounds like a pretty good set-up, huh?

It’s not always perfect though. I always find something that bothers me, something that seems perfect to be grumpy about. But tonight, while making these amazing tacos, I got to thinking about the things that tick me off – and they’re usually just the smallest things! Things I have absolutely no control over and that really don’t matter in the grand scheme of things. I really need to learn to let go of the things that I can’t do anything about, and realize that my getting grumpy about them just isn’t going to do anything.

So that is my goal. To save all my grumpiness for the things that really matter, and hope that those kinds of problems never come along 🙂

Now for the tacos…

These are actually really unexpectedly tasty. The zucchini and radishes pair very nicely together, and the chili-lime flavors compliment very well. They’re a cinch to throw together and were filling enough for dinner just by themselves.

This was the first time I had tried the Tofutti “Better than Sour Cream.” I’ve been so used to just doing without the cheeses and sour creams and meats that veganism prohibits that the fake stuff really scares me! Not to mention I’ve had some bad experiences… Let’s just say I don’t eat ANY vegan cheese…

But in my opinion, the Tofutti Sour Cream really makes these tacos! It’s definitely not necessary, and they are very good without, but throw some on there if you have it on hand. It is definitely becoming a staple in my house.


Radish & Zucchini Tacos

Print this recipe.

Inspired by this post.

1 zucchini, sliced into matchsticks
5 radishes, sliced into matchsticks
Juice of 1/2 lime
2 tsp olive oil
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups corn (I used the Trader Joe’s frozen Roasted Corn – so good!!)
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 tsp chili powder, or to taste
6 corn tortillas
Tofutti Sour Cream, optional

Toss zucchini, radishes, and lime juice in a bowl; set aside. Heat the oil in a skillet and add the onions, cooking until translucent. Add the garlic and cook another minute or so. Add the corn and beans and cook for another 3-4 minutes.

Toast the tortillas in an oiled pan until slightly blistered. Fill with corn&bean mixture, then zucchini and radish slaw. Top with a dollop of sour cream, and eat to your heart’s content (if there is such a thing)!

2 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner Tonight – Radish & Zucchini Tacos

Leave a Reply

