Oatmeal Cinnamon Raisin Bread

It was soggy in San Luis yesterday. Very soggy. I don’t think it stopped raining from 11am to… well, I went to bed around 10. I also don’t think soggy is a very nice word. It’s wonderfully descriptive and fun to say, but just kind of sounds gross.

Anyway, I’m not a fan of being cold. I like the cold and how festive and fresh it feels, but I like experiencing this while all bundled up in loads of jackets and fuzzy socks. Especially those ugly fuzzy socks that you would be mortified to be seen wearing in public. I’m of the opinion that the uglier the sock, the warmer they will be.

I definitely wear mine in public.

So yesterday morning, to prepare for the rainy day ahead, I decided to make some bread. I wanted something warm, and cinnamon seemed to fit the bill. I wanted something sweet, so enter lovely raisins. I wanted something chewy, and oats seemed just right. So I threw them all in a bowl and ended up with a loaf that I am truly pleased with.

So here it is – my spur-of-the-moment Oatmeal Cinnamon Raisin Bread, that just might warm you up on a soggy, rainy day (and there’s that word again…).

Oatmeal Cinnamon Raisin Bread

Print this recipe!

5 oz whole wheat flour
9 oz all-purpose flour
2 oz rolled oats
6 oz soy milk (or regular milk, for the non-vegan version)
6 1/2 oz water
3/4 oz butter (I used Earth Balance, but regular butter works for non-vegans)
2 tsp cinnamon
2 oz raisins
1 tsp yeast
1 tsp salt
1 tsp melted butter, for brushing (optional)

Place oats and milk in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high for 2 minutes.

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Mix in the bowl or in a mixer until a shaggy dough forms.

Knead 6-8 minutes, until a smooth forms. You won’t get super awesome gluten development because of the raisins, but it should still be smooth and stretchy.

Form into a ball and place in an oiled bowl. Let rise 60-90 minutes, or until doubled in size.

Shape into a log and place in a well-oiled 8.5×4.5 loaf pan. Let rise 60 minutes, or until crested 1 inch above the rim of the pan.

20 minutes before baking, preheat the oven to 350F.

Bake for 35 minutes, or until golden. The crust should sound hollow when tapped.

Brush with melted butter, and let cool 1-2 hours. Enjoy!

Note: Brushing with butter is optional, but the lack of moisture in the oven will create a white-ish look to the top of the loaf. Brushing with butter returns the pretty golden hue, but isn’t necessary to the overall flavor.

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite remedy for a cold, rainy day?

I make myself some coffee, find a warm blanket, and snuggle down with a book (usually of the textbook sort…). As long as I can stay warm, bring on the cold!

One thought on “Oatmeal Cinnamon Raisin Bread

Leave a Reply

